Geting to Know You(BC): Ashley and Brandon Stroud...


Name: Ashley Stroud Age: 29

Where do you call home? I guess Waco now since we are raising our family here. But I grew up in Roswell, NM.

What do you do in Waco? I just started this past fall as an elementary art teacher for Woodway Elementary. In other words I get to play arts and crafts all day and get paid!

 What do you love most about UBC? I love Sunday morning worship. We have visited many churches in the area and none compare. Love the music. Love the sermons. Love the diversity of people worshipping together.

Favorite Movie? This is hard. I'm a movie addict. Favorite manly movie is braveheart. Favorite animated movie is croods. Favorite chick flick is new in town. And about a million others.

When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up? A lot of things. Veterinarian, teacher, archeologist.  My mom likes to make fun of the fact that I use to play accountant. I invented a lot of stuff too. I'm actually the real inventor of the laptop and the rewinding tv (dvr).

What do you want to be now when you grow up? I really just want to be a stay at home mom. I love to cook and craft and play with my precious baby all day long.

Favorite artist/band/musician? Michael buble. People just don't sing like that anymore. My parents always played good oldies like that when I was growing up!!

Best Burger in Waco? Hmmm....I really enjoy fuddruckers. I like building my own burger with goodies I like. But the new smash burger in town is pretty awesome.

What do we HAVE to know about you to really know you? I'm actually an introvert. I feel really awkward around people I'm not close friends with. And I have a really hard time making friends. I could probably count on one hand the number of true friends that I really felt close to. My mother is exactly the same and bc of that we have always been best friends. Family is really important to me.

Tell us about your family.  

I assume you mean Brandon and Chloe. What exactly do you want to know? Brandon and I have been married 4 years this April. Chloe turns 2 at the end of January. Chloe is a big goober. She has so much personality. I love it! Do you want more info about Brandon?


Brandon (in his own words)

Age: 33

Where do you call home? Waco, TX

What do you do in Waco? Configuration Analyst @ Ferguson Enterprises Inc. Distribution Center and CrossFit Coach @ CrossFit Waco

What do you love most about UBC? The variety of ideas and people that I would not normally be exposed to in my everyday life.

 Favorite Movie?  The Goonies

When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?  Major League Baseball Player.

What do you want to be now when you grow up?  Happy

Favorite artist/band/musician?  Glenn Kaiser "The Ressurrection Band"

Best Burger in Waco?  Fudruckers Buffalo Burger.

What do we HAVE to know about you to really know you?  I am a quiet person if I don’t speak to you it’s not because I think I am too cool.  It is because I am shy and it takes a lot of time with someone for me to open up.